Annular Solar Eclipse TODAY – May 21/20, 2012

Path of the Annular Solar Eclipse May 21/20.  It can be viewed from southern China to southern Texas.

The Annular Solar Eclipse takes place today.

Here is a brief description from eclipse-maps.com:

On May 21, 2012, an annular solar eclipse begins over southeast China and passes over Japan. When the eclipse crosses the International Date Line, the local date becomes May 20. The eclipse then enters the California/Oregon border, passes in the late afternoon over Nevada, Utah, Arizona, a corner of Colorado, New Mexico, and ends at sunset in Texas.

An annular solar eclipse occurs when the Moon’s apparent disk is just smaller than the Sun’s disk and the Sun appears as a brilliant ring. This spectacular sight can only be safely observed with approved solar filters or by projecting an image of the eclipsed Sun onto a flat white surface. See observing instructions at http://transitofvenus.nl/wp/observing/six-ways-to-see-the-transit/

Eclipse Timings:

As you can see, the annular eclipse starts at 23:49 UTC, or

7:49 PM Eastern
6:49 PM Central
4:49 PM Pacific

Aside from being an extraordinary space weather event, this eclipse is highly significant consciousness event. Please see separate post for more information.

Advertisements

About Pat Donworth

I express myself as teacher, writer, and consciousness explorer. These driving interests have manifested in my work/service as a university and hospital chaplain; a book and magazine writer/editor, and teacher and workshop leader. I designed this blog to be a portal that points to and assists awakening souls to implement, and make practical, the changes that will usher in a new world based on unity, compassion, and collaboration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s